Designed by architect William Liberty (W.L.) Vernon for Hastings M.P. Thomas Brassey (who in 1886 became the 1st Earl Brassey), the building - inspired by the merchant palaces of Venice - was completed 1878-80.
While the Brasseys had a private suite on the second floor, the rest of the building contained a public library, school of the arts and other areas for use by local societies. It is now used as the Hastings Central Library.
The entrance porch contains an enamel mosaic frieze by Salviati of the Bayeux Tapestry. This is perhaps a nod to not only the historic battle that took place in the city of Hastings in the 11th century, but also the family's Norman lineage which can be traced back to Brecy during the time of William the Conqueror.
British Listed Buildings
Tiles & Architectural Ceramics Society
Rob Evans' flickr Photostream
Phil Sellens' flickr Photostream